You Chicken?

“You chicken?” I said

“No” Dave said

“Then why don’t you jump?”

“It’s ten stories down!”

“So?”

“So I don’t want to die”

“Dave” I said and tapped myself on the temple “you’re in here”

Dave looked at me suspiciously

He looked down the drop

He stepped up on the ledge

“What does this prove anyway?” Dave asked

“Nothing” I answered

“Than why do I have to?”

“You don’t.  But we were talking about this.  Now we’re here”

“Well now that we’re here it doesn’t seem like such a good idea”

“Why not?”

“Because I could die”

“No you can’t.  We discussed this.  You agreed”

Dave nodded

He looked over the edge

“Is it gonna hurt?” he asked

“I don’t know” I said

Dave looked at me

He shook his head at me

Closed his eyes

And leaped out

I went to the edge just in time to see him hit

The body sat there still as soon as it hit

“Dave!” I yelled

But the lump just sat there

Someone walked by and took no notice of Dave

But they looked up at me when I yelled

I climbed down the building fire escape we had come up

I went home

Sat in front of the computer

“Did it hurt?” I asked when I saw a shadow move across the room

After a silence Dave came forward from the dark

“It did” he said

“But you didn’t die” I said

“I didn’t die” he said

8 thoughts on “You Chicken?

  1. I’m not sure why, but I had a moment of real panic when Dave was jumping. Followed by very real dread. The kind you can taste at the back of your throat when it hits.

    And then I kinda wanted to hug him. and you. So.. double hugs. :p

      1. You’re most welcome. I’m having fun. 🙂 It’s nice to have some time to kick back and relax with some good poetry. And I bet you’ll love the rest of the video too. 🙂

Leave a comment