I Ain’t Lyin’

Out banging a nail
Into a poem
And pouring cement
Over the tone
(That is meant to be explicit)
I just feel alone
They say “this is about friendship is it?”
And I stare sadly at them
On the video of their phone

Out snagging a crisp sentence
Ripping it up
And chopping it for my apprentice
Who looks at me
With a transparency
And disappears
Apparently
And I stare sadly out the window
To be accosted by worry

Out checking the ditches
For good stories
I dumped my loose leaf into the garbage
All my stories were boring
And my face glows
With a monitor inches from my face
I get all teary
As I erase

Out of luck
Out of thought
Out of time
I slide a poem towards you
That doesn’t rhyme
And you read
The first two lines
And
The question locks and binds
And you fret and whine
That I am untrue
But I ain’t lyin’

One thought on “I Ain’t Lyin’

Leave a comment